Complete noob - front tyre (tire?) question
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
  • Page:

TOPIC: Complete noob - front tyre (tire?) question

Complete noob - front tyre (tire?) question 7 years, 2 months ago #3017

• dannyboy
  • Fresh Boarder
Hi all,

I've just picked up a 2001 DRZ400E and so far think its awesome!

However I do have a question on the front tyre (or tire?)... Mine has no valve on it so you can't add air... When I was at a local dealer at first they were confused, but then said some off road bikes have like a rubber/foam insert rather than air based with a valve, so you don't get punctures?? The front tyre looks half flat all the time.

Is this right?

I'm bit worried... thinking maybe its had a flat tyre at some point and someone has put that temporary foam in to get you home.

Any thoughts?

Thanks
Dan

Re: Complete noob - front tyre (tire?) question 7 years, 2 months ago #3018

• drztroy
  • Gold Boarder
it may have what they call a moose in it , if it is just a temporary foam it will go soft fairly quickly. but if it is a moose it should still have the lock pin coming through.

hope that helps

Re: Complete noob - front tyre (tire?) question 7 years, 2 months ago #3019

• Buddy
  • Senior Boarder
Its not the rim lock??? your looking at????

Re: Complete noob - front tyre (tire?) question 7 years, 2 months ago #3020

• dannyboy
  • Fresh Boarder
Cheers guys!

It's defo got the rim lock in place, however where the air valve should be is just a hole.

Sounds like maybe this moose stuff then? So just to confirm, even on a "E" version, there's no reason not to have the air valve and fully inflated?

If so, I'll take it to the local tyre place and get them to change it.

Cheers
DannyBoy

Re: Complete noob - front tyre (tire?) question 7 years, 2 months ago #3022

Top enduro riders that have lots of money put in Mouse tubes, it would be a little strange to put one on a DRZ.