You are not logged in.

Hot Topics

More Topics »

Login form

Welcome, Guest
Username Password: Remember me

Changing to RM Forks
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
Share your modifications both the ones that worked and ones not worth doing.
  • Page:

TOPIC: Changing to RM Forks

Changing to RM Forks 4 years, 3 months ago #4340

Hi Guys,
I'm new to the scene and would really like to learn more about my new beast and where and how to get the best out of it. I have found my new 2001 DRZ has DR650 forks which don't work very well anymore and have no adjustment other than changing oil level and spacers inside the fork(I replaced the seals as they were shot). I have scored a set of 1999 RM125 forks and triples and was going to put them in. has anyone had any experience or advice for this mod?

Re: Changing to RM Forks 4 years, 3 months ago #4341

• drztroy
  • Gold Boarder
even if you did get them to fit i dont think they will carry the constant weight of the 400 , much heavier bike. just my thourghts, could be wrong.

Re: Changing to RM Forks 4 years, 2 months ago #4344

Thanks,
I have done a bit of homework and it's something that has been done a bit in the states to get USD forks in the bush on the DRZ. To the point of an aftermarket triple clamp being made to reduce the off-set from 24.5mm closer to the DRZ 18mm (production has stopped). The forks I have came directly off a DRZ400. Headset bearings and Axle are the same size in both clamps and the fork legs are longer than the SM DRZ forks so ride height isn't lost. I take your point on weight so I will keep you updated on how it goes. Any other info or support would be much appreciated.

Cheers,
Dan

Re: Changing to RM Forks 4 years, 2 months ago #4350

• drztroy
  • Gold Boarder
i got my suspention done at MPE on the sunshine coast both front and rear and it is a completly differnt bike to ride cost me $1200 but was well worth the coin.

Re: Changing to RM Forks 4 years, 2 months ago #4352

• midrz
  • Senior Boarder